The Ghost in Apartment 2R (Paperback)

The Ghost in Apartment 2R Cover Image
$7.99
Usually Ships in 1-5 Days

Winter 2019 Kids Indie Next List


The Ghost in Apartment 2R confidently straddles the line between spooky and funny, spine-chilling and heart-warming. I got goosebumps! Multiple times! But they were always offset by the arrival of dawn and the charming shenanigans of Danny’s parents and friends. Just as Danny’s life is inextricably tied to the history of his diverse Brooklyn neighborhood—which is slowly being transformed by encroaching gentrification—the ghost’s terror and trauma are tied to this earthly place. Markell writes about Brooklyn, its history, and its people with the warmth and affection only a native could achieve, while also crafting a stellar ghost story that kept me hooked from beginning to end. I can’t wait to start shoving this book in readers’ hands.”
— Abby Rauscher, Books Are Magic, Brooklyn, NY

Description


What if there was a ghost in your brother's room? This kid-friendly mystery about three friends who try to help a restless spirit find peace is perfect for fans of Under the Egg and The Book Scavenger.

It stinks. Danny's older brother has moved out and gone to college--and Danny doesn't even get his nice big room. But you know what's worse? It seems that he's left behind an angry ghost!

With the help of his friends Nat and Gus, Danny interviews everyone his Brooklyn neighborhood to find out about spirits. Is it an Arabian ghoul? A Korean gwishin? A Polish haunting? Maybe the answer lies with Danny's own bubbe and her tales of a dybbuk, a Jewish spirit. In the end, one thing is certain: a good night's rest is hard to get when a ghost is around.

About the Author


Denis Markell has written two other novels for kids--the puzzle-packed mystery Click Here to Start and the Dungeons & Dragons-inspired adventure The Game Masters of Garden Place. He lives in a small, definitely not haunted apartment in Brooklyn with his wife, illustrator Melissa Iwai; his son; and their possibly demonically possessed Shiba Inu, Nikki.

Praise For…


"[An] affectionate tribute to a richly diverse, close-knit Brooklyn neighborhood and its multigenerational residents.” —Publishers Weekly

A layered chiller that is also a valentine to the story’s setting." —Booklist

"A diverse, interesting cast . . . hair-raising ghost stories . . . to appeal to fans of comic spookiness." --The Bulletin of the Center for Children's Books

PRAISE FOR CLICK HERE TO START


A School Library Guild selection 
An Amazon Best Books of the Month Selection


"In this clever debut, Markell takes readers on a clue-filled adventure...[and] maintains an energetic, entertaining balance of character-driven narrative and tricky challenges." —Publishers Weekly

"Highly entertaining...a well-paced read with fully realized and likable characters...[and] should have strong appeal to gamers, fans of video game-based stories, and reluctant readers." —SLJ

"This book will appeal to a wide audience. Readers who enjoyed Schreiber's Game Over, Pete Watson will enjoy the video game component; fans of Fitzgerald's Under the Egg will enjoy reading more about the Monuments Men; detective story aficionados will revel in the inclusion of The Maltese Falcon story. This is a great book to hand to just about any middle grade reader." —YA Books Central 

PRAISE FOR THE GAME MASTERS OF GARDEN PLACE


"So inventive, and so much fun!" —Wendy Mass, NYT bestselling author of the Candymakers series

"A love letter to a legendary game." —Michael Northrop, NYT bestselling author of TombQuest

"An epic adventure...for young fans of Stranger Things." —SLJ

"An exciting new adventure exploring friendship...[with] often humorous commentary on social issues. —Booklist

"Both funny and heartfelt...[it's] a story that has as much to offer diehard fans as it does newcomers to fantasy role-playing." —The Bulletin
Product Details
ISBN: 9780525645740
ISBN-10: 0525645748
Publisher: Yearling
Publication Date: September 15th, 2020
Pages: 320
Language: English